Overview of our Expertise

The Fraunhofer EIT Health consortium offers competencies in almost all related areas for health and better living.

Information & Communication Technologies

  • Artificial Intelligence and Image Analysis, Life Science Informatics
  • Telemedicine, Interoperability Standards

Cognitive Sensors & Systems

  • Biosensors, Wearables and Point-of-care Devices
  • Bio- and optomechatronic Systems and Biomanufacturing

Life Science & Materials

  • Pharmaceuticals, Stem Cell Technologies and Toxicology
  • Implants, Prostheses, Bioresorbable Materials

Innovation & Education

  • Service Design and Business Models
  • Training and Education

For more details see the profiles of the individual institutes or please contact the coordinating person for this Fraunhofer EIT Health consortium.

Profile of the Member Institutes

 

Fraunhofer Academy

  • Education and Part-time Training
  • Courses and Seminars based on the Research Activities of the Fraunhofer institutes

Karla Sosa
Email: karla.sosa@zv.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 89 1205 1514

 

Fraunhofer AISEC

  • Systems Security
  • Software and Hardware Security
  • Service and Application Security
  • Secure Systems Engineering
  • Security Evaluation

Sascha Wessel
Email: sascha.wessel@aisec.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 89 322 9986 155

 

Fraunhofer FIT

  • Integrated Healthcare
  • Mobile & Web Health Application Development
  • Standards Based Healthcare - HL7/FHIR
  • User Requirements Engineering
  • Usability & Web Accessibility

Dr. Carlos Velasco Nunez
Email: carlos.velasco.nunez@fit.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 2241 14 2609

 

Fraunhofer HHI

  • Real-time Solutions for Minimal-invasive Surgery & Surgical Microscopy
  • AR/VR/XR Solutions for Surgical Training & Telemedicine/Telehealth
  • Trustworthy AI
  • Federated Learning
  • Medical Imaging & Digital Pathology

Jean-Claude Rosenthal
Email: jean-claude.rosenthal@hhi.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 30 31002 269

 

Fraunhofer IBMT

  • Medical Biotechnology
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Stem Cell Process Engineering
  • Cryobiotechnology and Biobanking
  • Medical Ultrasound

Dr. Philip Laupsien
Email: philip.laupsien@ibmt.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 931 4100 364

 

Fraunhofer IGB

  • GLP Facility for Cell-based Test Systems
  • Human In-vitro Test Models/OoC Systems
  • NGS-based Diagnostics & Bioinformatics
  • Materials for Medical Devices
  • Virus-based Technologies

Prof. Dr. Steffen Rupp
Email: steffen.rupp@igb.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 711 970 4045

 

Fraunhofer IGD

  • AI for Healthcare
  • Medical Image Analysis
  • Smart Sensors & Smart Living
  • Visual Analytics for Health Data
  • Augmented Reality & Human-Computer-Interaction

Dr. Stefan Wesarg
Email: stefan.wesarg@igd.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 6151 155 511
 

 

Fraunhofer IIS

  • Digital Endoscopy and Microscopy
  • Medical Imaging and Analytics
  • Smart Textiles, Wearables and Medical Sensors
  • Point-of-Care Devices, Telemedicine
  • Interoperability Standards

Dr. Christian Münzenmayer
Email: health@iis.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 9131 776 7300

 

 

Fraunhofer IKTS

  • Bioceramics, Implants, Bone Replacement
  • Biosensors and Diagnostics
  • Bioelectric, -ultrasound and -optics
  • Biomedical Surface Engineering
  • Biomaterial Characterization

Dr. Jörg Opitz
Email: joerg.opitz@ikts.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 351 888 15 516

 

Fraunhofer IMW

  • Market and Scenario Analysis
  • User Acceptance and Ethical, Legal and Social Aspects
  • Service Design and Business Models
  • Health Economic Analysis
  • Qualification and Competence Management

Dr. Marija Radic
Email: marija.radic@imw.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 341 231039 124

 

Fraunhofer IOF

  • Optical and Mechanical System Design
  • Micro- and Nano-structured Optics
  • Opto-mechatronical Components and Systems
  • Imaging and Sensorics
  • Precise Optical Components and Systems

Dr. Norbert Danz
Email: norbert.danz@iof.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 3641 807 750

 

Fraunhofer IPA

  • Digital Hospital
  • Robot Assistance
  • 5G for Medical Applications
  • Biomechatronic Systems
  • Laboratory Automation

Dr. Jens Langejürgen
Email: jens.langejuergen@ipa.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 621 17207 187

 

Fraunhofer IST

  • Functional Coatings on Implants and Devices
  • Optical Coatings and Sensors
  • Cleaning and Desinfection Systems
  • Modeling and Process Simulation
  • LCA and LCC Analysis

Dr. Kristina Lachmann
Email: kristina.lachmann@ist.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 531 2155 683

 

Fraunhofer ITEM

  • GLP Toxicology Testing
  • GMP Manufacturing of Biopharmaceutical APIs & IMPs
  • Clinical Studies & Lung Disease Models
  • Medical Implant & Inhaler Design
  • Liquid Biopsy & Single Cell Techniques

Henning Weigt
Email: henning.weigt@item.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 511 5350 329

 

Fraunhofer MEVIS

  • Imaging Physics
  • Image & Data Analysis
  • Image Registration
  • Modeling & Simulation

Dr.-Ing. Markus Wenzel
Email: markus.wenzel@mevis.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 421 218 59227